Board of Directors

Who We Are What We Do Why It Matters Media Join The Cause Meet the Bus Donate

Board of Directors

Our Board

Executive Committee

  • Ken Horner,
    Board President
    IUSD Principal (Ret.)
  • Susan Holt,
    Past Board President
    Director, IUSD Family Resource Center
  • Nestor Herrera,
    Vice President, Programs
    RE/MAX Premier Realty
  • Joe Burke,
    Vice President, Fund Development/Marketing
    Founder/CEO, Anatomy of Yes
  • Julie  Engen,
    Public Safety Liaison
    Deputy Chief, Irvine Police Department
  • Sean Phillips,
    Regional VP, Wells Fargo
  • Christine Schaubach,
    Community Leader
  • Julie Hudash,
    Founder/CEO, Team Kids

General Board Members

  • Melinda Becket-Maines,
    National Communications, American Association of Critical-Care Nurse
  • Ellen Burke,
    Professor, Special Education, California State University, Fullerton
  • John DeCero,
    CEO, Mechanics Bank
  • Craig Elliott, CPA (Ret.)
    Community Leader
  • Scott Hansen,
    Attorney/Founder, Viking IP Law
  • Charles Glorioso
    Chief Compliance Officer, Macqarie
  • Gillian Hayes
    Professor in Informatics,  University of California, Irvine
  • Michelle Hodges,
    Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
  • Donna Kelly,
    Vice President of Community Development, Lennar
  • Bethany LaFlam, Esq.
    Managing Partner, Alchemus Capital
  • Dan Lubeck,
    Managing Director, Solis Capital Partners
  • Greg McKeown,
    Division Chief, Orange County Fire Authority
  • Blythe Persinger,
    District Manager, Starbucks
  • Daniel Horgan
    Senior Director, Corporate Engagement at MENTOR: The National Mentoring Partnership

2016-2017 Team Kids Advisory Council

  • Laura Baden,
    Former Board President
  • Michael Cupps,
    Investor; Former Executive Board Member
  • Craig Elliott, CPA (Ret.)
    Community Leader
  • Bethany LaFlam, Esq.
    Managing Partner, Alchemus Capital
  • David Maggard,
    Chief, Irvine Police Department (Ret.)
    Chief, Los Angeles Airport Police Department
  • Jim McDonnell,
    Sheriff, County of Los Angeles
  • Stephen McHale,
    Fire Captain (ret), Orange County Fire Authority
    Founding Board President
  • John McLaughlin, Ed.D.
    Education Program Specialist
    Federal Coordinator, U.S. Department of Education
  • David Mihalik,
    Deputy Police Chief (ret), Irvine Police Department
    Former Board President
  • Dr. Patrick K. Murphy,
    Superintendent, Arlington County Schools
  • James Schwartz,
    Deputy County Manager, County of Arlington
  • Jelahn Stewart,
    Assistant United States Attorney,
    Chief Victim Witness Assistance Unit,
    United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia
  • Jack Toan,
    Regional VP, Wells Fargo Foundation
    Former Executive Board Member

Today in Orange County, most of the work being done in health and human services focuses, appropriately, on the immediate needs of the disadvantaged. Team Kids takes a different approach, directing their energies toward our youth, teaching them the value and power of working together to solve community issues. In so doing, they are developing the philanthropists of the future and creating systematic change in our community.”

OC United Way, CEO Max Gardner

Team Kids is addressing critical child and community needs today, while also building our next generation of problem solvers.”

Dan Lubeck, Team Kids Board Member

I became a Founding Team Kids Board Member in 2004, after witnessing the leadership and compassion being developed in the students participating in the Team Kids Challenge Program. Team Kids engenders a culture where it is everyone’s right, regardless of age, to be a powerful agent for change.”

Bethany LaFlam, Team Kids Board Member

Team Kids, to me, is an antidote to entitlement and one great way to create the responsible citizens we all want as future leaders.”

Mike Cupps, Team Kids Board Member; Private Investor

Call us at 949 861 4887

© 2019 Team Kids. All rights reserved. Orange County Web Design by iCreativeCanvas